Good reads on Goodreads

I’ve been using Goodreads personally now, and I’ve really enjoyed it. It’s fairly easy to use, but I did encounter some bugs, particularly regarding to logging in with my Facebook information. It seems to have cleared up in the past weeks, however. It’s easy to find books and authors or browse genres. In case you’re curious or want to be my friend, here’s my account.

I love thinking of the possibilities Goodreads offers libraries. You could have online book clubs! A staff member could write a thoughtful review of a book in the discussion portion of the page, and patrons could respond. You could make great online reader’s advisory guides, in the shelf section! Conduct easy, quick surveys! Best of all, the library can link their account to their facebook page, hopefully ensuring that Facebook traffic would see the Goodreads updates. Here’s an example of one public library’s Goodreads page.

I use goodreads at work for other reasons too. Lots of users have great lists (Listopia). I like browsing though them to find new titles to purchase. Booklist and Publisher’s Weekly have great reviews and are wonderful publications but sometimes I like to hear from non-librarian people and see what people are actually reading. It’s good to be able to connect with actual readers.

10 thoughts on “Good reads on Goodreads

  1. Nettie

    Hi Nicole,
    Great post, thank you! I’m a fan of Goodreads too. I had heard about it for a while, but didn’t try it out til I joined a librarian’s book club that uses it to organize our reads. I find it super useful to keep track of things (and the ever-growing “to read” list). I agree it’s a perfect fit for libraries too. Bringing readers advisory to the 21st century!

    Reply
  2. Lauren Peters

    Nicole,
    I am newly hip to Goodreads. What I like most about it is that it sends requests to your library. I find a book I like, send my request to the library, and BOOM it’s there the next day. For FREEEEEEEEE.

    Lauren

    Reply
  3. Nomi

    I’ve never used it, but it sounds really cool! My friends and I created a shared list of books that we have read and would like to either recommend (or not!). We used Google Docs and I think that we have all found at least one or two books because of the list. However, the additional capabilities of Goodreads, makes me feel like it is something that is definitely worth checking out. I think that one of ways that it might be particularly effectively used by libraries is in rural settings for book clubs or maybe by creating book clubs for groups that have a hard time meeting in person – the elderly or the disabled – language groups that are separated by distance (ie, anyone interested in x language reading within a larger geographic area).

    Reply
  4. kathysbookmark

    Nicole,
    Thanks for your Blog post about Goodreads. I’ve heard a lot about it but I may be the only librarian without an account! Your post encouraged me to check it out!
    Kathy

    Reply
  5. Christy Confetti Higgins

    Hi Nicole – thanks for bringing Goodreads to our attention. I’ve heard about it but have not used it until now. I just signed in, followed you, and now my daughter is creating an account for us to share books, etc.

    I enjoyed reading your blog about ideas on how libraries use Goodreads and could be using Goodreads – sounds like a great addition to a social strategy for libraries.

    Christy

    Reply
  6. kallie

    I always used Shelfari instead of Goodreads, but Goodreads seems to be more mainstream. The fact that you can reserve books at your library through Goodreads is amazing – don’t know if you can do that with Shelfari. I get on a roll where I enter what I read and what I want to read then I forget about it. The trick with these sites, and all social media sites, is staying on top of them.

    Reply
  7. cynthiaalise

    I love good reads. It helps me to find new material and gives me things to talk about with my friends. I have some friends whom’s taste is really solid and I appreciate being able to see what they are up to. It is also a good way for me to share with them what I am reading and would like to talk about. Thank you for covering this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

