Scrupulous Sgrouples

sgrouples

Sgrouples.com

Sgrouples.com (like scrupulous) bills itself as the “World’s Private Social Network.”  It claims “no spying, no tracking, no stalking.” It markets itself as the safe alternative to Facebook.  The idea is to create a new social space for friends to gather that doesn’t use your information for marketing purposes.  There are no online ads.  The site allows you to create smaller, separate groups to share with, isolating social groups from business contacts.  It allows collaboration on a document within the website with specified participants.  And while you are waiting for your Sgrouples page to take off, Facebook and twitter can be loaded onto your home page.

Sgrouples market subject is the high school or college student.  They want to educate the young about online privacy, what and how to share, and the consequences of risky or risqué posts.  They have a program they call “Practice Safe Sharing,” which uses videos and blogs to teach high school students the importance of online privacy.  It is the 2012 recipient of the Online Trust honor roll.  The first 4GB of storage is free.  After that, you can store up to 50GM for $4.99 per month.

After reading about Sgrouples in a magazine article, I thought that if this website is all that it promises, it could become my homepage.  With Sgrouples, I would be able to separate who sees which posts.    No more logging into different accounts to keep them private.  Reality, so far is different.  First, access to sgrouples is through a browser; there is no app.   This already slows down the process.  The only other social sites I could add were twitter and Facebook, although they seem to imply that you can add all of your sites such as PInterest and Linkdin.

Even if they don’t have the bugs worked out yet, the potential for Sgrouples is great.  There are many social and collaborative features all on one site.  There is a calendar to keep you organized that automatically takes events from your FB page and adds them to the calendar.  If you add directly to the calendar, you have the choice to choose with whom to share, send invites, set reminders, and add pictures.

There is a discussion board that you can choose with which groups to share.  You can create, edit and share documents in Word, Pdf, and xls.  Documents can be filtered and organized for easy retrieval.  There is a Direct Message feature that you can choose one or many recipients.  Students can use this site to organize group activities, stay up with their social sites, be more organized, access assignments and work on projects all within the same page.

That said, all information is stored in the cloud.  As my fellow classmates have commented, anything stored in the cloud is not completely secure.  Copyright and corporate security must be weighed when using Sgrouples.  And who’s to say that after years of storing our data, they don’t get bought out by an UN-Sgrouples group?

From what I have seen and read so far, Sgrouples is a good step towards smaller groups and creating more online privacy.  In a few years when my kids are in high school, I would rather have them on this site than Facebook.   I will bookmark the site and check back in in six months to see if they have the kinks worked out.

3 thoughts on “Scrupulous Sgrouples

  1. ektoukosmou

    It’s encouraging to see that there are more private alternatives to Facebook available. As you pointed out, because Sgrouples is in the cloud, it’s really not much of an improvement. I read about something else recently called DIASPORA*. It’s a social network that allows each user to act as their own server by installing DIASPORA* software, giving them greater control over their data. DIASPORA* is nonprofit, open source and user-owned: http://diasporaproject.org

    Reply
  2. Lauren Peters Post author

    Thank you for your reply. I looked at Deaspora. Even though I took the web building class last semester, I don’t think that I am technically savvy enough to host my own server. I didn’t understand several of the terms on their home page (and they had typos!!) I need something way more user friendly. I guess this would be a good site for those who are in the field and want like-minded technophiles to socialize with.

    Funny – I looked up technophile in the urban dictionary. This is the result: N: An obsessive person who relies on fruit – based technology for their daily existence.

    Reply
  3. jaidenwilliams

    Trust, Respect, Integrity,… wow this site sounds great. I went to it and checked out the video introduction on how it works and this sounds pretty neat (almost too good to be true). I am glad that you commented on how exactly it did not do everything it claimed. I think it is important to fully understand the shortcomings of what a site claims. I was surprised that I had never heard of this site before. This semester I am working on updating and creating accounts for social networking tools. I think after I am up to speed I will join this site so I can see everything in a safe secure place! Thank you so much for sharing the details of this site with us. What an exciting tool!
    -Jaiden

    Reply

Leave a Reply

