Tweet Tweet My Friends, who are super uptight and can’t take a joke!!!

Ok, so Twitter. I must start by saying that I was so disinterested in signing up for this site, I could scream. But as I said in my previous post, I made a pact with myself to be active in engaging with these sites, and I am a woman of my word. Signing up for this site was super easy; I really liked how it walked me through the process of finding an individual name for my profile. I was a bit frustrated that I could not just have my name, “Jaiden Williams”—but at the same time this is something that kind of annoys me about Facebook. That being the number of Jaiden Williams that appear when someone searches for me. After I decided on a name that suited me (and wasn’t taken already) “JaidenTheGreat” was born.

Then the aggravating part of creating my profile started… deciding whom to follow. Ugg, this was difficult for me. I am honestly not interested in celebrities or athletes. I don’t care what people like Lindsey Lohan have to say, so this was a problem for me, because these were the first people suggested. I decided to take a strategy of following people that fall in one of three categories: friends, family, and those who can be strong professional connections. I am not saying that I am opposed to having anyone of celebrity status, but I really want to learn how to utilize this site as a professional networking tool.

A great aspect of this tool (that was also present on LinkedIn) was the ability to sync contacts from my Gmail account as people I could follow. When I initially thought of whom I wanted to follow professionally I was a bit lost. So the ability to see whose email address was associated with Twitter was a great way for me to select people based on what type of relationship I have with them. After I added the people I knew, I wanted to add organizations that I am interested in working for. I figured this would be a good way to be involved with the organization. My dream job (and goal) is to work for the Children’s department of Chronicle Books perhaps in editorial department. I searched for them in Twitter, and was so excited to see that Chronicle Books has a Twitter account under “Chronicle Books Jobs.” I was so happy! There are amazing opportunities posted here. And I even tweeted to Chronicle Books asking how a library science student could land a job with them. I am very excited and hopeful to hear back from them.

Deciding what my first tweet would be was a bit of a challenge too. I want to project a really great image of myself, because it seems that tools like this have the potential to open many doors. I decided on this, “I am a library science student, living in the city and trying to make it.” I felt really good about my first tweet, especially since it reflects my desire to be involved in achieving my professional goals. I can see so many uses for this tool in respects to libraries and information institutions, as it allows them to shout out information in a condensed form. When I reviewed SFPL for our evaluation assignment, I was impressed with how much information about the library could be absorbed in posts of 140 words or less.

I created my profile this morning, and am currently following 16 people. Unfortunately only 1 person has decided to follow me. And it is someone that I do not know. But that’s ok. I feel confident that if I keep up with the site, good things can happen! So please guys, feel free to find me on Twitter, and follow me on my journey. Also, if anyone knows anyone at Chronicle Books, please let me know!

-Jaiden

5 thoughts on “Tweet Tweet My Friends, who are super uptight and can’t take a joke!!!

  1. Nettie

    First, for what it’s worth, I laughed. 🙂
    Second, I too have been really reluctant to join Twitter. Sorry people, but I don’t care if you are eating the “best sandwich ever!” Your foray into Twitter points out some smart ways to make relevant connections and boost your career. I may just try it myself afterall…thanks!

    Reply
  2. laurenpeters

    Jaiden, I am also a reluctant twitterer but have found some great posts when using search. For example, i found a chess club at my local library by searching for my town. An article in a newspaper 30 miles away carried the chess club posting on twitter, but there was nothing in my town about it. Also, I followed a crime scene in real time from an author’s twitter link from his original blurb of the story. I am discovering some potential in the twitterverse.

    Reply
  3. kallie

    Jaiden I really liked your post. To all those reluctant Twitterers/Tweeters I once felt exactly the same as you. But I have to say as a site, it is so not about what anyone had for breakfast. It is an idea generator. I follow about 60 people, the majority of whom are school librarians, public librarians or library organizations. I get so much information about new books, etools, educational ideas and trends, it’s amazing. Also hashtag searching is a powerful tool on Twitter, so if there’s a particular topic you’re interested in you can search for it and see what others are saying about it. If you are interested in children’s or school librarianship I would check out John Schu, Colby Sharp, Donalyn Miller, or Teri Lesesne (Professor Nana) and see what you think, or check out who they follow and if any of them interest you. John Schu is a big Ivy & Bean fan (Chronicle Books) so you never know where a twitter connection will take you.

    Kallie

    Reply
  4. Christy Confetti Higgins

    Great post Jaiden!

    There are all types of experts, professionals, companies, magazines, libraries, newspapers, etc. that you can follow to learn and stay connecting to people/info you care above (examples are in the list we posted in the course content). Depending on the information area you work in, Twitter may provide you with a great way to learn and stay informed / connected with people, organizations, companies, publishers, etc. that impact your work.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

