Not Another Social Network….

Until about three weeks ago I had resisted any urge I may have had to create a Google + profile.  I use gmail and google drive all the time so I have been aware of Google + for years but I don’t know many people who use it and I already use Facebook and Twitter so much that I didn’t really want to get sucked into another social network.  As I was working on a project for another class, however, a classmate mentioned that we could use a “hangout” on Google + to collaborate on our assignment but I was the only one in our group who didn’t have a profile.  I created a profile immediately and have been exploring it for the past several weeks.  

 

Immediately I was turned off by how Google wanted me to invite all my contacts into my circles.  I wasn’t sure which contacts actually had accounts with Google + and which Google just wanted me to get to sign up.  The last thing I want to do is unknowingly send someone a message asking them to join another social network.  I added a few people and created some circles but I think my biggest reason for not liking Google + much is that I haven’t found connections who use the site much, to get interesting content in my feed.  I do like how it is organized and how you can easily filter the feeds you see, depending on the circles you have created.  

As far as for libraries, from what I have seen, I do not think Google + would be an advantageous social network to join.  I did some research by looking at the profiles of several libraries on the site and from what I found, there did not seem to be a lot of activity on these profiles.  I think it is difficult for most libraries to find the time and staff to post a lot of information to all the social network sites that exist and when they do, they probably focus on the big two – Facebook and Twitter.  If anyone has any ideas or evidence to show why Google + would be a good social networking choice for libraries, please share.  From my experience, I don’t see the advantages of using this site for professional use.

Leave a Reply

