Have you guys heard of Vine?

 Its a new social network where members create short 6 second videos to post and be viewed by followers.  Vine links to twitter, where users can then click the link to view the video.  I first heard of this in February (shortly after it came out) and I thought it was great!  There is so much opportunity for humor and creativity in the short, simple videos that users post.  It is a new app and as of now it is only accessible on iOS devices so the videos or “vines” are really only available to iphone users, though they can be viewed on a computer browser as well.  The “vines” themselves can only be made on mobile phones through the app and the users camera.  Since so many people now use their mobile devices as their main source of information, I like seeing a social network that is based directly on an app.  

 

After my fascination with this new social network wore off, I began thinking about ways that libraries may be able to join in on the trend.  I did a little googling and found that several libraries do currently use vine.   This post by Matt Anderson gives a little information about vine and mentions Adam Goldberg, who makes some pretty wonderful vines, I must say.  Also, it lists some libraries that use vine.  It may be easier to view some of these vines if you use an iOS device.  

 

I especially love the potential vine uses for libraries which are shown in this blog post.  These short tutorials may be just what a patron needs to see to make their use of library resources go more smoothly. Also, the fact that they can conveniently click on the link from within their twitter feed is getting right to what I think is the most important part of libraries using apps like vine: reaching potential users where they are!  While I don’t think vine is necessary for libraries, I do think it could be a helpful step in getting younger users to see libraries as interesting and relevant to their lives.  

One thought on “Have you guys heard of Vine?

  1. kallierees

    I did hear about Vine just the other day for the first time, but I can’t for the life of me remember where. Maybe it was on my twitter feed. I remember thinking Vine, what the heck is that? Didn’t even occur to me it was a social media tool. Pardon the pun, but the tools are growing like vines. My first reaction is that 6 seconds isn’t long enough to do anything, but I’m sure I’ll be proven wrong.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

